Fundamental Principles of Occupational Health and Safety by
This is a guide to the development of occupational health and safety programmes based on the information contained in ILO standards, codes of practice and resolutions. It provides information on national laws, labour codes and regulations governing the health and safety of workers. It also explains the main concepts in occupational health and demonstrates how relevant ILO Conventions and Recommendations define workers' rights and allocate duties and responsibilities to competent authorities, employers and workers. The respective roles of employers and workers in the management are considered with examples of good practice. The book is aimed at policy-makers, trades unions, employers and labour administrators
Occupational Health and Safety by
Workplace accidents and errors cost organizations hundreds of billions of dollars each year, and the injured workers and their families endure considerable financial and emotional suffering. It's obvious that increasing employee health and safety pays. The accumulating evidence shows that investing in occupational health and safety results in improved financial and social responsibility performance. There are extensive country differences and wide occupational differences in the incidence of accidents and errors. The International Labour Organization (ILO) estimates that every year there are 2.2 million fatal and 270 million non-fatal accidents or occupational diseases worldwide. Occupational Health and Safety looks at the research into what causes accidents and errors in the workplace. In line with other titles in the series, Occupational Health and Safety emphasizes the psychological and behavioral aspects of risk in organizations. It highlights how organizations differ in their health and safety performance, with case studies throughout and best practices. Key elements focus on: employee selection and training, fostering employee understanding, participation and engagement in health and safety matters, developing a health and safety culture at organizational and group/work unit levels, communicating and reinforcing safe workplace practices and bench-marking one's organization against the industry leaders. The contributors to this volume come from various countries, reflecting unique interest and knowledge in particular areas.
Risk-Reduction Methods by
This book covers system safety methods related to occupational health and safety. It argues for anticipating hazards, risk reduction strategies for hazards processes, and making sure workers' tasks correspond to human capabilities. To this end, the text provides pro-active methods for identifying hazards, assessing risk, analyzing hazards, using tools from system safety, conducting post-incident investigations, considering human errors, applying risk reduction strategies, and managing process safety. While emphasizing methods suitable for all countries, it includes references to U.S. military and Department of Energy documents, as well as a discussion of fault-tree construction.
Occupational Health and Safety in the Care and Use of Research Animals by
Much has been written about the care of research animals. Yet little guidance has appeared on protecting the health and safety of the people who care for or use these animals. This book, an implementation handbook and companion to "Guide For the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals," identifies principles for building a program and discusses the accountability of institutional leaders, managers, and employees for a program's success. It provides a detailed description of risks-- physical and chemical hazards, allergens and zoonoses, and hazards from experiments--which will serve as a continuing reference for the laboratory. The book offers specific recommendations for controlling risk through administrative procedures, facility design, engineering controls, and periodic evaluations. The volume focuses on the worker, with detailed discussions of work practices, the use of personal protective gear, and the development of an emergency response plan. This handbook will be invaluable to administrators, researchers, and employees in any animal research facility. It will also be of interest to personnel in zoos, animal shelters, and veterinary facilities.
Occupational Health and Safety in the Care and Use of Nonhuman Primates by
The field of occupational health and safety constantly changes, especially as it pertains to biomedical research. New infectious hazards are of particular importance at nonhuman-primate facilities. For example, the discovery that B virus can be transmitted via a splash on a mucous membrane raises new concerns that must be addressed, as does the discovery of the Reston strain of Ebola virus in import quarantine facilities in the U.S. The risk of such infectious hazards is best managed through a flexible and comprehensive Occupational Health and Safety Program (OHSP) that can identify and mitigate potential hazards. Occupational Health and Safety in the Care and Use of Nonhuman Primates is intended as a reference for vivarium managers, veterinarians, researchers, safety professionals, and others who are involved in developing or implementing an OHSP that deals with nonhuman primates. The book lists the important features of an OHSP and provides the tools necessary for informed decision-making in developing an optimal program that meets all particular institutional needs.