Contemporary Approaches to Research on Learning Environments by
Learning environment research has undergone considerable growth in the past thirty years and has now reached a stage of notable diversity and internationalization. Earlier studies often used questionnaires to assess learning environments, but today both qualitative and quantitative approaches are used. Many contemporary studies are a productive combination of these two approaches. This volume brings together prominent educators and researchers from around the world to share their contemporary research on educational learning environments. The chapters provide information on recent trends and developments and effective applications of different methods to improve teaching and learning. The book will be a critical and specialized source that describes recent advances in learning environment studies across all continents.
Translation and Cross-Cultural Communication Studies in the Asia Pacific by
Translation and interpreting (T/I) and cross-cultural communication activities in the Asia Pacific are unique in that they involve vastly different languages and cultures. Such differences pose challenges for T/I practitioners and researchers as well as scholars of cross-cultural studies. In Translation and Cross-Cultural Communication Studies in the Asia Pacific, Leong Ko and Ping Chen provide a comprehensive and in-depth account of various issues encountered in translation and interpreting activities and cross-cultural communication in the Asia Pacific. The book covers six areas including translation research from the historical perspective and different issues in translation studies; research on literary translation; studies on translation for special purposes; research on interpreting; translation and interpreting training; and research on issues in cross-cultural communication.
Academic Archives by
Today, the field of academic archives is more expansive and complex than ever before. In addition to college and university archives, academic archives encompass records management programs, special collections departments, and other campus archival repositories. This new definition of academic archives programs has redefined the role, and training, of academic archivists. This book gives you the tools to fill that role, including collection strategies, a management plan for electronic records, and development strategies for starting a campus records management program, and an understanding of the emerging trends affecting all archivists. Academic Archives is designed to appeal to archivists of all ranks and experience, archivists working both inside and outside of academic libraries, archivists in training, other information professionals, library directors, and members of the academic community. If you want to start an archives program, update an existing archives program, begin a career in academic archives, or remain current on recent developments, you'll find valuable advice in this timely addition to the Archivist's and Records Manager's Bookshelf Series.
English for Academic Purposes by
The analysis of academic genres and the use of corpus resources, methods and analytical tools are now central to a great deal of research into English for Academic Purposes (EAP). Both genre analysis and corpus investigations have revealed the patterning of academic texts, at the levels of lexicogrammar and discourse, and have led to richer understandings of the variations in such patterning between genres and between disciplines. The thirteen contributions included in this volume address issues in academic discourse studies from a range of perspectives: namely, corpus-based research into EAP at the lexicogrammatical and genre levels (Section 1); intercultural EAP research (Section 2); English as a Lingua Franca in academic communication (Section 3); and the relationships between corpus, genre and pedagogy in EAP, with an emphasis on implications and applications (Section 4). The collection is aimed primarily at teachers, students and researchers of EAP and applied corpus linguistics, but will also interest applied linguists in general. The emphasis of the contributions varies from studies with predominantly linguistic orientations to those focussing on practical applications.
Contemporary Debates in Childhood Education and Development by
What are the risks and benefits of non-parental care for young children? What are the short- and long-term effects of academically vs. play-focused environments for learning? How and when should we teach reading? What are the purposes of Education? What is the best way to teach mathematics to children, from preschool and beyond? Contemporary Debates in Childhood Education and Development is a unique resource and reference work that brings together leading international researchers and thinkers, with divergent points of view, to discuss contemporary problems and questions in childhood education and developmental psychology. Through an innovative format whereby leading scholars each offer their own constructive take on the issue in hand, this book aims to inform readers of both sides of a variety of topics and in the process encourage constructive communication and fresh approaches. Spanning a broad spectrum of issues, this book covers: Phonic and whole language reading approaches The developmental effect of non-parental childcare The value of pre-school academic skill acquisition The most effective methods of teaching mathematics Standardized assessment - does it work? The role of electronic media and technology The pedagogical value of homework The value of parents' reading to children. This book combines breadth of vision with cutting edge research and is a 'must have' resource for researchers, students and policy makers in the fields of education and child development.