Visual Computing for Medicine by
Visual Computing for Medicine, Second Edition, offers cutting-edge visualization techniques and their applications in medical diagnosis, education, and treatment. The book includes algorithms, applications, and ideas on achieving reliability of results and clinical evaluation of the techniques covered. Preim and Botha illustrate visualization techniques from research, but also cover the information required to solve practical clinical problems. They base the book on several years of combined teaching and research experience. This new edition includes six new chapters on treatment planning, guidance and training; an updated appendix on software support for visual computing for medici≠ and a new global structure that better classifies and explains the major lines of work in the field.
Computing Fundamentals by
The Basic Computing Skills You Need to Enhance Your Academic Education Computing Fundamentals provides students with the basic computing skills needed to get the most from their educational endeavors, regardless of field of study. Written by Microsoft Office Master Instructor Faithe Wempen, this detailed resource helps you develop a strong understanding of how computers work and how they affect our society. In addition to helping you master essential computing tasks such as working with operating systems, applications, and the Internet, this book also provides you with all the knowledge you need for computing basics. Learn the types of computer hardware and how they work together Understand operating systems and application software Get a complete introduction to Windows® 7 Learn the basics of Microsoft® Office applications Understand the essential technologies behind networking, the Internet, and the web Learn how to protect your online privacy and security Explore legal, ethical, and health issues of computing Each chapter includes a summary, list of key terms, and sample questions to help you master basic computer skills.
Future Directions for Nsf Advanced Computing Infrastructure to Support U. S. Science and Engineering In 2017-2020 by
Advanced computing capabilities are used to tackle a rapidly growing range of challenging science and engineering problems, many of which are compute- and data-intensive as well. Demand for advanced computing has been growing for all types and capabilities of systems, from large numbers of single commodity nodes to jobs requiring thousands of cores; for systems with fast interconnects; for systems with excellent data handling and management; and for an increasingly diverse set of applications that includes data analytics as well as modeling and simulation. Since the advent of its supercomputing centers, the National Science Foundation (NSF) has provided its researchers with state-of-the-art computing systems. The growth of new models of computing, including cloud computing and publically available by privately held data repositories, opens up new possibilities for NSF. In order to better understand the expanding and diverse requirements of the science and engineering community and the importance of a new broader range of advanced computing infrastructure, the NSF requested that the National Research Council carry out a study examining anticipated priorities and associated tradeoffs for advanced computing. Future Directions for NSF Advanced Computing Infrastructure to Support U.S. Science and Engineering in 2017-2020 provides a framework for future decision-making about NSF (TM)s advanced computing strategy and programs. It offers recommendations aimed at achieving four broad goals: (1) position the U.S. for continued leadership in science and engineering, (2) ensure that resources meet community needs, (3) aid the scientific community in keeping up with the revolution in computing, and (4) sustain the infrastructure for advanced computing.
Transmission Lines in Digital and Analog Electronic Systems by
In the last 30 years there have been dramatic changes in electrical technology--yet the length of the undergraduate curriculum has remained four years. Until some ten years ago, the analysis of transmission lines was a standard topic in the EE and CpE undergraduate curricula. Today most of the undergraduate curricula contain a rather brief study of the analysis of transmission lines in a one-semester junior-level course on electromagnetics. In some schools, this study of transmission lines is relegated to a senior technical elective or has disappeared from the curriculum altogether. This raises a serious problem in the preparation of EE and CpE undergraduates to be competent in the modern industrial world. For the reasons mentioned above, today's undergraduates lack the basic skills to design high-speed digital and high-frequency analog systems. It does little good to write sophisticated software if the hardware is unable to process the instructions. This problem will increase as the speeds and frequencies of these systems continue to increase seemingly without bound. This book is meant to repair that basic deficiency.
Professional Windows 7 Development Guide by
Demystify the move from Windows XP to Windows 7! Professional Windows 7 discusses all of the major new features in Windows 7, describes why the developer would want to use them, investigates the user implications of these new features, and then shows how to develop applications using them. This book focuses on the practical'which features does the developer need to know about immediately to gain the most value from Windows 7. The goal is to create a book that doesn't waste a lot of pages on fluff or features that the developer will never use. The developer will be able to go to a particular chapter, determine what a new technology requires to use, and the use the sample application as a basis for moving applications to Windows 7 or to create new applications that use Windows 7 features. Describes all the new user interface features and shows how to use them. Demystifies the security features that Windows 7 provides. Shows how to develop efficient applications that rely on 64-bit techniques and parallel processing. Demonstrates the strength of Windows PowerShell and how to create applications for it.