Accounting and Financial Management for I. T. Professionals by
The entire book is organised keeping into mind the need of I.T. professionals regarding business information and is based on MCA syllabus under U.P. Technical University and hence divided into three parts.Part I consists of basics of accounting and financial management followed by financial accounting. This part of book covers Unit I (Accounting and Final Accounts) of MCA syllabus under U.P. Technical University.Part II is devoted to management accounting, which covers ratio analysis of Unit III and basics of costing followed by Marginal costing and Inventory control system of Unit IV. Fund flow statement and standard costing are also covered in this part of the book to widen the scope of book-keeping into minds of undergraduate students of commerce stream. In this part, more thrust is given on management accounting, as management accounting is the analysis part of accounting as information system. The purpose of management accounting is to provide right information to right people at right time. Thus management accounting serves as vital source of data for management planning and controlling.Part III is devoted to Financial Management of Unit II followed by Capital Budgeting of Unit III of MCA syllabus under U.P. Technical University.Features: - Simple languagePoint-wise presentation Focus on diagrammatic presentation to help I.T. students in logic developments Designed keeping in view of non-commerce background students Large number of solved problems Also useful for BBA/B.Com students and non-finance executives.
Microsoft Access Small Business Solutions by
Database models developed by a team of leading Microsoft Access MVPs that provide ready-to-use solutions for sales, marketing, customer management and other key business activities for most small businesses. As the most popular relational database in the world, Microsoft Access is widely used by small business owners. This book responds to the growing need for resources that help business managers and end users design and build effective Access database solutions for specific business functions. Coverage includes: Elements of a Microsoft Access Database Relational Data Model Dealing with Customers and Customer Data Customer Relationship Management Database Solutions Marketing Database Solutions Sales Database Solutions Producing and Tracking the Goods & Services Production and Manufacturing Database Solutions Inventory Management Database Solutions Services Database Solutions Tracking and Analyzing Financial Data 1 Accounting Systems: Requirements and Design Database Solutions Accounting: Budgeting, Analysis, and Reporting Database Solutions Managing Memberships Implementing the Models SQL Server and Other External Data Sources With this valuable guide and CD-ROM, you'll be on your way to implementing database solutions in no time
Strategic Management Accounting by
This book critically analyzes the concept of strategic management accounting, the implications this emerging paradigm will have on the accounting profession, and the ramifications for businesses at large. This research examines current literature, and illustrates these concepts with current market examples. This manuscript approaches the topic in a way that is unique by linking the concept of SMA to the integrated reporting framework. In essence, strategic management accounting is a theory with broad-based support, but the IR framework and reporting structure provides a vehicle through which progress, costs, and benefits of a more strategic accounting function can be evaluated. Focusing on principles, primarily for internal management utilization, the following provides an outline and summary of concepts and techniques that can be used to elevate the role of the management accounting function. Whether you are a management expert, an accounting professional, or simply someone looking to keep up to date with emerging business trends, this text provides the content, and action-oriented steps to meet those expectations.
International Management Accounting. . V4 by
In the interests of globalization, many companies today are establishing theories and practices for international management accounting. This book discusses the current status of international management accounting in Japan through interviews with three major electronics companies. By tracing the history of the business expansion of the three companies, as well as their transition of strategies and accompanying organizational structure, key features and details of international management accounting are faithfully described. The book is divided into two parts. Part I describes general concepts of international management accounting in global companies, while Part II analyzes the experiences of three leading electronics companies -- Matsushita, Sharp and Sanyo -- in international management accounting. Written in a scholarly yet accessible manner, this book will benefit both academics and industry professionals practising in the field.
International Financial Reporting Standards by
Written for managers and professionals in business and industry, this book helps the reader in: * Understanding what is and is not IFRS * Learning the complexities of IFRS implementation * Appreciating the contribution of IFRS to corporate governance The changeover from the mosaic of different heterogeneous national accounting standards to the International Financial Reporting Standards has not been easy. For many companies IFRS, and most particularly the concept of fair value in IAS 39, has amounted to a phase shift - which is prerequisite to achieving compliant financial reporting. The research conducted by Dr. Chorafas for this book, documented that the process of meeting IFRS requirements presents opportunities and challenges to all enterprises. As many companies have found out, abandoning the classical accruals accounting for marking-to-market their transactions and portfolio positions, has not been easy. The conversion process has affected several functions within the organization including balance sheets, P&L statements, auditing, risk control, information systems, and management accounting. This book is in made up of four parts: * Part One focuses on business competition, standards boards, corporate accounting, and IAS 39 * The theme of Part Two, is the implementation of IFRS, exemplified through case studies on task forces and practical applications * Part Three brings together IFRS and management accounting requirements, with emphasis on fair value. * Part Four addresses itself to the contribution IFRS can make to better corporate governance, and to rebuilding the balance sheet The book has many case studies based on actual experiences. These range from the implementation of IFRS directives such as hedge accounting, to developing practices of real-time balance sheets; the help provided by sophisticated accounting solutions help in stress testing; and a comprehensive definition of the role of the audit committee.