|
Type of Resources |
It is... |
|
eResource |
Any electronic research material: online journal articles, ebooks, websites, etc. |
|
Database |
A searchable collection of articles and other academic writings available through the Library. You'll find these under eResouces section of BOU website. |
|
Library Online Catalog |
Where you can search for locations of books and CDs. |
|
BOU Website |
The digital front door to the University and the Library; your access point for all our services and resources. |
“Those who need information far exceed those who actually use information”
What Makes Library Databases Different from Google?
Is a Library database the same thing as Google? The answer is yes and no..
Google, as a search engine, searches the web for freely available information. Google can be considered a database since it contains a collection of searchable information and just like a Library database, Google contains a lot of information but the information is a little bit different.
Library databases contain specific information that is meant to support your education and coursework at BOU. Google is a good place to start your research as it contains all kinds of information BUT PLEASE DO NOT stop your research process there.
When you search for something in Google you get thousands of results, some of which are sponsored or promotional results (meaning a company is paying Google to promote their information/service). Library databases do not do that. Since all the information found in Library databases is organized by subject terms and keywords, Library databases uses the keywords you put into the search bar to find you information.
Why Should I use Library Databases?
Because we selected databases based on the academic programs offered at BOU, you should be able to find a lot of relevant resources in the databases we subscribe to for your assignments. Moreover, we want you to find reliable, peer reviewed scholarly sources and Library databases contain such scholarly resources. Check out the "eResources" section on the Library webpage to learn about all the different kinds of databases we subscribe to!
“Information has no value until it is used”
Subscription-based or paywalled databases typically require readers to pay for the content that they read. ... Since BOU pay subscription charges for its learners, you will have free access to the journals, articles, books, thesis, etc inside the databases that BOU purchased a subscription to.
In the open access model, readers are not charged: they have free online access to the content. By allowing free access to the scientific community and to the public, the open access model definitely ensures a wider readership.
Another difference is that in the subscription model, copyrights for the published content are usually transferred to the journal, while with open access journals authors generally retain copyright. This means that for an article published in a subscription-based journal, anybody who wishes to use any part of the paper will have to seek permission from the journal.
Open Access journals, on the other hand, often use Creative Commons licenses (CC licenses), which make it easier for users to share, use, and build upon the original work.
However, in the open access model, authors usually have to pay article-processing charges (APCs) once their paper has been accepted for publication.
Open Access journals are subject to the same peer review, production and publishing standards that apply for journals published under the subscription-based model, so there is no question about the quality and reliability of the work.
