Handbook of Urban Educational Leadership by
This authoritative handbook examines the community, district, and teacher leadership roles that affect urban schools. It will serve as a foundation for pedagogical and educational leadership practices that foster social justice, equity, and advocacy for those who have been traditionally and historically underserved in education. The handbook's ten sections cover topics as diverse as curriculum, instruction, and educational outcomes; gender, race, and class; higher education; and leadership preparation and support. Its twenty-nine chapters offer both American and international perspectives.
Educational Leadership by
′This wide-ranging and thought-provoking book provides an alternative approach to personal and professional leadership development. Although directed at headteachers, it has much to say to all staff irrespective of whether they are in formal positions of leadership. Given the increased attention to professional development, this is a timely publication, and will cause those who read it reflect as well as providing a wealth of approaches and ideas which can be used in their school′ - Colin Parker, Headteacher of King Edward VI Aston School, Managing Schools Today `This is an exceptionally good book that clearly brings together the author′s experience as a headteacher and academic. Harry Tomlinson is an educationalist with deep insights into the personal development dimension of leadership. This is not your standard leadership book; instead it is a unique set of ideas, concepts and observations that comprehensively covers ′the how′ of building leadership abilities.With twenty chapters, this is a significant resource for practitioners, leadership developers and academics′ - Professor Brent Davies, International Journal Educational Management `This is undeniably, a terrifically rich and well-researched text which could be the starting point for a variety of personal development journeys. It has enormous value in asserting the importance of personal growth as the foundation for professional development′ - Times Education Supplement `This book will undoubtedly help school leaders and potential leaders acquire a basic understanding of the essential elements in understanding themselves and others in the professional context′ - Times Educational Supplement There are many books about professional development for leaders in schools and teachers, particularly in the context of performance management. Though this book takes account of these, the focus is initially very much on personal development through self-understanding and self-management, because this has to be the basis for profound professional development. This book provides an alternative approach to personal and professional leadership development. For the first time this wide range of topics has been covered in a book on educational leadership. Practical activities are included to encourage the learning process. The first part of the book looks at the individual and the personal learning, development of emotional intelligence and modeling excellence which provide the basis for professional development. In the middle chapters the author focuses on the interpersonal and team development processes such as career management, coaching and decision making. The concluding chapters explore issues at the school level but always concentrating on the individual leadership development required. These include major current concerns such as knowledge management, the learning organization and the work-life balance. The author reaches out to include evidence from beyond the world of schools and education in order to enhance understanding. This book provides an in-depth resource and a learning opportunity for all those concerned with educational leadership.
Educational Leadership and Michel Foucault by
Drawing from the ideas of Michel Foucault, this book offers a critical examination of today's dominant discourse of educational leadership. Foucault's understanding of critique is as a 'permanent' ethos in which humans explore the nature of their existence but at the same time query the limits imposed upon them, and probe opportunities for increasing freedom. This book outlines the key concepts in the work of Foucault, and demonstrates how his concepts of discourse, power/knowledge, and governmentality offer an understanding of how ideas of educational leadership and management have emerged, how they serve to establish a discipline, and how they construct individuals - pupils, teachers, and head teachers - in particular ideological ways. The discourse of educational leadership and management not only represents a specific means of 'governing' education but also calls for the development of approved management and leadership skills and behaviours. The related focus on cultivating, valuing, and rewarding effective leaders is eminently suited to Foucauldian critique, which not only questions the basis for its assumptions and norms, but also examines the way in which the subjects of ELMA - today's educational professionals - are both constructed by the discourse and are called upon to shape themselves accordingly. Included in the book: - educational leadership as discourse - educational leadership as discipline - power and educational leadership - governmentality and educational leadership. By both applying theory and examining empirical exemplars, this volume offers a challenge to dominant leadership discourse and suggests alternative understandings of the field and approaches to practice. The book will be of value to researchers and postgraduate students with an interest in educational leadership, management and administration, as well as to practitioners in the school system.
Current Issues in School Leadership by
Current Issues in School Leadership examines controversies about, and affecting, school practices. Focusing on two essential questions--what is important to today's school leaders? and what is interfering with schooling processes?--it includes chapters by a broad range of authors, with expertise on their specific topic. The text is organized in three sections: *Social and Political Issues; *Curriculum and Learning Issues; and *Organization and Management Issues. The goal of this text--designed for school leadership, educational administration, and foundations of education courses--is to challenge readers to think carefully and critically about each of the issues presented, leading to positive action and leadership.
Genuine School Leadership by
"I especially like the sections that address the educational leader as one who has a calling to serve. This is the first and only text that has adequately addressed why educational leaders do what they do!"-Jill Gildea, SuperintendentHarrison Elementary School District #36, ILTransform your leadership practice by incorporating values, ideals, and ethics!How can an educational leader practice moral leadership and successfully engage teachers, students, and the surrounding community? In Genuine School Leadership, the authors explore the influence of personal values, experience, and beliefs on a leader's effectiveness. The book analyzes the scientific and sociological foundations of morality, examines current research on ethics, and explains how values develop within the context of educational leadership. With numerous examples, case studies, and exercises, this resource demonstrates how leaders can: Analyze their leadership style through reflective practiceUse personal values to support authentic, moral leadership Evaluate decisions based on the ethical norms of the surrounding communityEngage educators, students, and community members in developing a collective morality Nurture schools and districts as values-based learning communitiesThis insightful resource provides all educators and school leaders with the necessary tools to develop a positive ethical and spiritual basis for their leadership practice and school culture.